First upload with Amazon

The Briefcase Short StoryHi all.

From the outset, I must point out that I’m new to all this, so when (not if) I make mistakes, I apologise in advance.

I started my first book in 2005, let it mellow for 7 years and then started it again in October and finished it late November 2012. I looked at getting it published as a paperback, but didn’t want the rejection slips that apparently everyone gets. So Amazon it was then.

I thought that it would be a good idea to put up a short story first and offer it free on Amazon. I had had an idea kicking around in my noggin for some time for a short story, so I sat down and put it into words, edited it, polished it and started to put it up.

First of all, registering with Amazon was easy, finding the bookshelf was easy, filling out the form was easy until I pressed ‘Save and Continue’. It wouldn’t let me proceed and told me to look out for the text highlighted in red, but I couldn’t find it. I enlisted the help of my 19 year old computer savvy son, but again, he couldn’t find it either. Time to hit Google. Turns out that I’m not the only one with this problem, but I couldn’t find any answer there either, so back to the drawing board. After 10-15 minutes of trying to resubmit, I noticed a thin (very thin) red line around the ‘Add Contributors’ box. Could this be it? The problem was that as I was the only contributor, it couldn’t possibly mean me, could it? Yes it meant me. I duly filled in my name as the author and proceeded to the payments page.

As I said, my idea for the short story was to include details of my Twitter and Facebook pages and wait for the reviews – which I could also use for publicity purposes (on the presumption that all, okay most, well hopefully some of them, would be good). I had also cleverly thought to put details of my forthcoming novel at the back of the short story, so that any readers who liked it would be sure to be on the lookout for my new book. All ticketyboo so far.

I’m not a big Amazon user but I knew that they has lists of all the top free books and my aim was to hopefully crawl up the charts, but it wouldn’t let me offer it for free. I assumed that if I picked the lowest prices allowed in all the categories, then once it was uploaded, I would have the option to offer it free.

I started the whole process at 11pm on 11th December 2012. I uploaded my new short story and awoke to find that it had been uploaded and was now available to the whole world. Happy or what? All I had to do now was log in and change it to a free book. Wrong. Apparently I couldn’t offer the book for free unless I was enrolled in KDP Select, so I clicked the ‘enrol’ button and assumed that as it give me a delightful little green tick, I would  immediately be able to change it to a free book. Wrong again. Well not exactly, I had to go to help and get instructions. It told me to simply tick the box for the book I was promoting, click on the ‘Actions’ button at the bottom left of the page, select ‘Manage Promotions’ and sort out the free days. Easy peasy.

So, my first ever Amazon upload is online, it will be free from 12.00am on Friday, 14th December, 2012 until 11:59pm Sunday night. http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Briefcase-ebook/dp/B00AMQJSXW/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1355324627&sr=1-1-catcorr

If you do get a chance, please download it and let me know what you think. It’s only around 1800 words (as opposed to the novel at 90,000 words) and shouldn’t take more than 5-10 minutes to read.

My intention is to keep this blog up to date with the progress of the short story sales, so thanks for dropping by. Hope it wasn’t too boring.

Lawrence

Any comments will be greatly appreciated.

2 thoughts on “First upload with Amazon

Leave a Reply

